Skip to content
Osaka Street Food
Food tours compared

The best Osaka food tour for your evening

Shinsekai, Dotonbori or the quieter north: which tour includes what, how many guests share it and who it leaves out.

Quick picks
Shinsekai street food tour with 15 tastings
Hungry Osaka Tours · 3 hours Shinsekai street food tour with 15 tastings
★ 4.9 (2,010) from €73
Book now
Shinsekai food tour with 15 dishes and 3 drinks
Osaka Food Tours, Inc. · 3 hours Shinsekai food tour with 15 dishes and 3 drinks
★ 4.8 (2,887) from €73
Book now
Small-group food tour through Tenma and Kyobashi
Pinpoint Traveler · 3 hours Small-group food tour through Tenma and Kyobashi
★ 4.8 (332) from €99
Book now

Most Osaka food tours promise a dish count in the title and keep the rest for the small print. The tours below include the food in the ticket; they differ in district, group size, how many drinks you get, what you pay on top and who can join. The bar crawls, which include no food at all, are compared separately on the start page.

Which Osaka food tour fits you

  • You want the classic Shinsekai evening in a small group

    Fifteen tastings around Tsutenkaku tower with a cap of 8 guests. Not for vegetarians, vegans or gluten-free diets, and children must be at least 10.

    Book on GetYourGuide

  • You want to see different kinds of eatery

    Fifteen dishes spread over a street stand, a gastro bar, a restaurant, an izakaya and a speciality shop, with three drinks. The most-reviewed of the Shinsekai tours on this site.

    Book on GetYourGuide

  • You want the most food for the evening

    Eighteen foods at four restaurants around Tsutenkaku, three drinks. Vegetarians can be accommodated to a limited degree.

    Book on GetYourGuide

  • You would rather skip the busy districts

    Tenma and Kyobashi with no more than 6 guests, up to three drinks and an optional wagyu upgrade. From age 13.

    Book on GetYourGuide

  • You have less time or start in Dotonbori

    Twelve dishes and two drinks in two and a half hours, meeting at Don Quijote on Dotonbori. Anything off the set menu is paid in cash.

    Book on GetYourGuide

  • You want kushikatsu and okonomiyaki in one evening

    Starts in Shinsekai, continues to Dotonbori by train, and you grill your own okonomiyaki. The train fare is extra and the dashi contains pork.

    Book on GetYourGuide

The full food tours side by side

Most-reviewed first; the column headers re-sort the rows. Not stated means the listing does not say.

Photo Tour and operator DistrictFood includedDrinks includedYou pay on topGroupMin. ageMeeting pointDiets Reviews ↕ Price ↕ Book
Shinsekai food tour with 15 dishes and 3 drinks Osaka Food Tours, Inc. Shinsekai 15 dishes at 5 places 3 drinks Nothing named on the listing Small group, private option Not stated Dobutsuen-mae Station, Exit 1 Vegan: No · Gluten-free: No ★ 4.8 (2,887) €73 per person Book on GetYourGuide
Shinsekai street food tour with 15 tastings Hungry Osaka Tours Shinsekai 15 tastings Drinks included, number unclear (listing says 2, 3 and 4) Nothing named on the listing Up to 8 10 Ebisucho Station, Exit 3 (ends at Dobutsuen-mae) Vegetarian: No · Vegan: No · Gluten-free: No ★ 4.9 (2,010) €73 per person Book on GetYourGuide
Shinsekai street food tour with 18 foods and 3 drinks Goen Japan Shinsekai and Tsutenkaku 18 foods at 4 restaurants 3 drinks Nothing named on the listing Not stated Not stated MEGA Don Quijote Shinsekai Vegetarian: Limited · Gluten-free: No ★ 4.8 (436) €66 per person Book on GetYourGuide
Small-group food tour through Tenma and Kyobashi Pinpoint Traveler Tenma and Kyobashi Food at 3 places Up to 3 drinks Further drinks; optional wagyu upgrade Up to 6 13 McDonald’s at Temma Station (ends in Kyobashi) Not stated ★ 4.8 (332) €99 per person Book on GetYourGuide
Guided food tour with 12 dishes and 2 drinks Japan Guide Star Starts in Dotonbori; districts not named 12 dishes 2 drinks Anything beyond the set menu, paid in cash Not stated Not stated Don Quijote Dotonbori Midosuji Not stated ★ 4.8 (291) €56 per person Book on GetYourGuide
Local foodie tour in Dotonbori and Shinsekai Shinsekai and Dotonbori 7 kushikatsu, okonomiyaki you grill yourself, takoyaki 2 drinks Train ride between the districts Small group, private option Not stated FamilyMart, Dobutsuen-mae Station Exit 1 Vegetarian: Limited · Vegan: No ★ 4.7 (107) €90 per person Book on GetYourGuide
Evening food tour with tastings Arigato Travel Starts at Ebisubashi (Dotonbori) 4 stops and a dessert 1 drink Further drinks 2 to 10 Not stated Starbucks Tsutaya Ebisubashi Not stated ★ 4.9 (20) €158 per person Book on GetYourGuide

Prices are per person as the booking platform shows them right now. On a food tour they cover the tastings listed; at a bar crawl they cover only the guide.

The full food tours in detail

Open a card for the meeting point, the diet notes and what the listing leaves unclear.

Shinsekai food tour with 15 dishes and 3 drinks
Osaka Food Tours, Inc.

Shinsekai food tour with 15 dishes and 3 drinks

Not suitable for vegans or for gluten intolerance; vegetarian options are not stated.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €73 ★ 4.8 (2,887 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • Five different kinds of place: a street stand, a gastro bar, a restaurant, an izakaya and a local speciality
  • Shinsekai, the old district around Tsutenkaku tower
  • The largest review base of the Shinsekai tours on this site

Meeting point

Dobutsuen-mae Station, Exit 1, at the Daiichi Building with the 15 lanterns.

Not suitable for

  • Vegans
  • People with gluten intolerance

Worth knowing

The listing also mentions hotel pickup, which does not fit the fixed meeting point. Plan to get to the station yourself.

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Shinsekai street food tour with 15 tastings
Hungry Osaka Tours

Shinsekai street food tour with 15 tastings

Not suitable for vegetarians, vegans or a gluten-free diet.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €73 ★ 4.9 (2,010 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • Groups of up to 8
  • Starts at Ebisucho and ends near Dobutsuen-mae, so you finish in Shinsekai
  • Restaurants change with the season; the menu on the listing is an example

Meeting point

Ebisucho Station, Exit 3. The tour ends at Dobutsuen-mae.

Know before you go

  • Filming during the tour is not allowed

Not suitable for

  • Children under 10
  • Vegetarians and vegans
  • Gluten-free diets

Worth knowing

The title, description and highlights give different drink counts (4, 3 and 2).

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Shinsekai street food tour with 18 foods and 3 drinks
Goen Japan

Shinsekai street food tour with 18 foods and 3 drinks

Vegetarians and some allergies can be accommodated to a limited degree; gluten-free is not possible.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €66 ★ 4.8 (436 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • The most dishes of the Shinsekai tours on this site
  • Four restaurants around Tsutenkaku tower

Meeting point

In front of MEGA Don Quijote Shinsekai.

Worth knowing

The web address of the listing says 2 hours, the listing itself 3 hours.

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Small-group food tour through Tenma and Kyobashi
Pinpoint Traveler

Small-group food tour through Tenma and Kyobashi

The listing says nothing about diets. Ask before booking.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €99 ★ 4.8 (332 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • Tenma and Kyobashi, away from Dotonbori and Shinsekai
  • Groups of up to 6
  • Wagyu upgrade available

Meeting point

McDonald’s at Temma Station. The tour ends in Kyobashi.

Not suitable for

  • Children under 13

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Guided food tour with 12 dishes and 2 drinks
Japan Guide Star

Guided food tour with 12 dishes and 2 drinks

The listing says nothing about diets. Ask before booking.

  • Duration: 2.5 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €56 ★ 4.8 (291 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • The shortest full food tour on this site
  • Meeting point right on Dotonbori

Meeting point

Don Quijote Dotonbori Midosuji.

Worth knowing

One reviewer writes that not everyone in the group got the same food and that the sashimi portion was small.

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Local foodie tour in Dotonbori and Shinsekai

Local foodie tour in Dotonbori and Shinsekai

Vegetarian kushikatsu exist, but the dashi stock contains pork.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €90 ★ 4.7 (107 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • Both classic food districts in one evening
  • You grill your own okonomiyaki

Meeting point

FamilyMart at Dobutsuen-mae Station, Exit 1.

Know before you go

  • Arriving late means no refund
  • The train fare between the districts is not included

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Evening food tour with tastings
Arigato Travel

Evening food tour with tastings

The listing says nothing about diets. Ask before booking.

  • Duration: 3 hours listed, schedule 17:00 to 20:30
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €158 ★ 4.9 (20 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • Evening slot from 17:00
  • Minimum of 2 and maximum of 10 guests

Meeting point

Starbucks Tsutaya Ebisubashi.

Know before you go

  • A copy of your passport is required
  • The guide waits only 5 minutes

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Shorter tasting walks for takoyaki and Kuromon Market

Tasting walks that cover one dish or one market rather than a whole evening.

Dotonbori takoyaki tour with 5 takoyaki at 6 shops
Wonder Works Inc.

Dotonbori takoyaki tour with 5 takoyaki at 6 shops

Not suitable for people with food allergies.

  • Duration: 2 hours
  • ✓ Free cancellation, deadline on the booking page
from €45 ★ 5.0 (63 reviews)
Book on GetYourGuide
Details

Highlights

  • The only tour on this site built entirely around takoyaki
  • Groups of up to 10

Meeting point

Namba Station Exit 25, at the Dotonbori sign.

Not suitable for

  • People with food allergies

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

Kuromon Market food walking tour (6 stops, 6 tastes)

Kuromon Market food walking tour (6 stops, 6 tastes)

The listing says nothing about diets. Market food is mostly seafood.

  • Duration: 2 hours
from €46 ★ 4.9 (655 reviews)
Book on Viator
Details

Highlights

  • Six stops inside Kuromon Market, with one tasting at each
  • A daytime walk, which suits the market: many stalls close in the early evening

Details from the product listing, checked October 2026. The booking page has the binding version.

How we compared

We read each listing for the same eight facts: district, food included, drinks included, extra costs, group size, minimum age, meeting point and diet rules. A tour made the list if it includes food in the ticket and runs as a guided walk; the takoyaki tasting tour and the Kuromon Market walk are shorter formats and stay out of the main table.

Shinsekai, where most of the tours meet

Most of the tours here spend all or part of the evening around Tsutenkaku tower, and on paper they look alike. The differences are in the details. Hungry Osaka Tours caps the group at 8 and starts at Ebisucho, so you walk into Shinsekai and finish near Dobutsuen-mae. Osaka Food Tours, Inc. meets at Dobutsuen-mae Exit 1 by a building hung with lanterns and moves through five kinds of place, from a street stand to an izakaya. Goen Japan meets at the MEGA Don Quijote and has the longest dish list. The kushikatsu and okonomiyaki tour also meets at Dobutsuen-mae, then takes the train to Dotonbori.

None of them is a good choice for a vegan. Goen Japan says it can adapt to vegetarians to a limited degree, and the kushikatsu tour offers vegetarian skewers but cooks with a pork-based dashi. If someone in your group eats no meat, a cooking class with a set vegetarian menu is the more reliable evening; the diet matrix on the start page covers the classes as well.

Away from the crowds in Tenma and Kyobashi

Pinpoint Traveler runs the only tour here that avoids Dotonbori and Shinsekai altogether. You meet at the McDonald’s by Temma Station, eat at three places and finish in Kyobashi. The group is capped at 6, which is the smallest on this page, and the minimum age is 13. Drinks are capped at three, further rounds cost extra, and a wagyu upgrade is offered.

An evening tour with a schedule

The tour by Arigato Travel starts at 17:00 at Starbucks Tsutaya Ebisubashi and runs until about 20:30, although the listing gives three hours. It has four stops, one drink and a dessert, takes between 2 and 10 guests, and asks for a copy of your passport. The guide waits five minutes for latecomers, not longer.

Where the listings contradict themselves

  • Hungry Osaka Tours gives four drinks in the title, three in the description and two in the highlights.
  • The Goen Japan web address says 2 hours, the listing 3 hours.
  • Osaka Food Tours, Inc. mentions hotel pickup, but the tour starts at a station exit. Several other Osaka listings carry the same line.
  • On the 12-dish tour one reviewer writes that not everyone got the same food and that the sashimi portion was small.

None of this is a reason to avoid a tour. It is a reason to read the booking page for the version that applies on your date, and to expect the route to change: restaurants on these tours rotate with the season.

Getting there on time

Meeting points are station exits and shop fronts, and the tours leave on time. The kushikatsu and okonomiyaki tour gives no refund if you arrive late. Note the exit number in the listing: Exit 1 at Dobutsuen-mae, Exit 3 at Ebisucho.

When to book

The groups of 6 to 8 are the first to fill. Cherry blossom season in Osaka usually falls between late March and early April, and Golden Week runs from 29 April to 5 May 2027; for those dates, book as soon as your travel dates are fixed. In the humid months of July and August the evening tours are the more comfortable choice.

Questions people ask

Is an Osaka food tour worth it if I can just walk around Dotonbori?

You can eat well in Dotonbori on your own. A tour helps most when you want someone to order for you and explain the dishes, and in districts away from the canal such as Shinsekai or Tenma, where the tours visit places you would walk past.

Which tour has the most food?

By dish count, the Goen Japan tour in Shinsekai with eighteen foods at four restaurants. The Hungry Osaka Tours and Osaka Food Tours, Inc. evenings list fifteen each, the Dotonbori tour twelve. Dish sizes differ, so the count is a rough guide.

Are drinks included?

On the full food tours, yes, but the number varies: one drink on the evening tour from Ebisubashi, two on the 12-dish and the kushikatsu and okonomiyaki tours, three at Goen Japan and Osaka Food Tours, Inc., up to three in Tenma. Hungry Osaka Tours includes drinks but gives three different numbers on its listing.

Can children join?

Hungry Osaka Tours takes children from 10, the Tenma and Kyobashi tour from 13. The other listings on this page do not give a minimum age. The bar crawls are only for guests aged 20 and over.

Is there a food tour in Osaka in the morning?

The full tours here run in the evening. For a daytime option, the Kuromon Market walk visits six stalls with a tasting at each, and it suits the market, where many stalls close in the early evening.

Back to the table

District, food, drinks, extras, group and diets in one view.

Back to the comparison